4 medics arrested over theft of government drugs in Rukungiri


RUKUNGIRI-The Police in Rukungiri district have arrested four suspects on allegations of theft of government drugs.

The Kigezi regional Police Spokesperson Elly Maate confirmed the arrest of the four noting that on Wednesday at around 4:00pm, an intelligence led operation was conducted in Nyakabale cell, Central Ward, Kebisoni town council in Rukungiri district after it emerged that some workers at Kebisoni Health Centre IV had stolen government drugs from the health centre.

Maate adds that Police swung into action and arrested ,Natukunda Vilda  43, a Nursing Assistant at Kebisoni Health Centre IV, resident of Bukyekye village, Nyakagyeme sub county in Rukungiri district, Ainembabazi Brenda 22, a student of Kampala international university Western campus (an intern), resident of Nyamambo cell, Kebisoni town council in Rukungiri district.

Others are Akatukwase Elcom 20, a student from Fort Portal College of Health Science ( an intern), resident of Katunga cell, Ruyonza Parish, Nyarushanje Sub county in Rukungiri and Akanyijuka Sarcher 21, a student of Fort Portal College of Health Science (an intern), resident of Kyondo II Village, Kyafoora Parish, Rugarama Sub county in Ntungamo district.

According to Maate ,Police made a search where Natukunda Vilda was found with laptop bag containing Ceftriaxone Injection (1g) -10, 2 small boxes of Ciprofloxacin (500mg) of 100 tabs, 3 boxes of Doxycycline Capsules (100mg) of 100tabs, Amoxicillin Capsules (250mg) 1 tin of 1000cps, Paracetamol tablets (500mg) 1 tin of 1000 TBS, Metronidazole tablets (200mg) 1 tin of 1000tbs all labelled Government of Uganda.

Ainembabazi Brenda was also found with 1 piece of mosquito Net, 1 box of Examination gloves, 1box of surgical gloves all labelled Government of Uganda.

The 4 suspects are currently detained at Rukungiri Central Police Station for further management.

The statement on theft of government stores (Drugs) has since then been registered at Rukungiri central police station under reference number CRB 715/2022.